Finding the Holy Grail of Internships

That’s the dream right? Finding that holy grail internship that’s going to jump start your career? The one that is going to leave you with a job offer right after you graduate, or the one that is going to lead to your dream job at your dream company?

What about that internship that isn’t quite what you want to do in the end but teaches you a hell of a lot and is just as important? My internship this fall isn’t quite fashion related, it isn’t at a fashion magazine, or a big name fashion house, its at a wedding florist. And I couldn’t be happier.

image

Internships are about experience and learning and thats exactly what I am doing. I am learning about the bridal industry, I am learning about design, and event planning, and even a little bit about running your own business. So maybe its not exactly what I plan to do after college but than again who knows, at this point I’ve changed my mind hundreds of times who knows where I’ll end up. Maybe this will lead to a job in the bridal industry. Maybe my career path won’t be exactly what I had planned and that’s okay.

I began looking for internships after getting inspired one day reading Leave your mark (read my review here!), its a wonderful book with tons of career related advice. I once thought my only option was a fashion related internship I had limited options and was getting frustrated, I couldn’t up and move to new york for an unpaid internship. Then I thought what about something different, I’ll learn something new but still keep it in the realm of fashion. I took to internmatch.com, a wonderful website to help you find internships in your area or desired field. I decided for once to forgo searching by interest and just searched by area. I came across an interesting internship at a wedding florist called Posy and thought it sounded fun and something I wouldn’t dread going to after long days of classes. I was right for once in my life and landed my first internship. While it’s not the typical ‘holy grail’ of internships it’s still important in my career path. I am learning a ton and most importantly enjoying it.

image

This was the internship I needed but didn’t even know I wanted. If I have learned anything from this at all it is that, once again, I need to stop trying to make everything perfect. Pretty much nothing will go the way I carefully planned it out in my head but, in the end it will all work out and I’ll get to experience some really cool opportunities along the way. So do open ended searches, and don’t limit yourself when looking for an internship or job. You never know how one opportunity might lead you to your dream job.

image

-h


Leave a comment